Cy Twombly: Collage/Painting

No. X 1974 by Cy Twombly 1928-2011

IMG_9995 wilder shores of love.1985 coll part JPG

My recent work has had some reference to the beautiful works of Cy Twombly and in doing so I have came across some of his more collaged works. Much of his work is large-scale, freely-scribbled, calligraphic and graffiti-like works on solid fields of mostly gray, tan, or off-white colors. But I’ve really enjoyed Twombly’s use of material with the ‘scribbles’, the combination is just splendid and I feel now I’ve learnt that I don’t need as much of the large painterly gestures but more material in combination, along with my distorted photos, only emphasisng my concept more and more.

Leave a Reply

