Collaged experiments: Focusing on the more gestural and expressive marks

 

GESTURE3

IMG_6510These painterly collages have became very expressive and as much as I am enjoying the look of them, I feel toning down the paint and adding more texture and material will balance out the overall appearance. Looking at Twombly’s work, has made me see that more pale/white areas, grabs and demands the attention of the piece altogether. My gestural marks are coming along well but I’ve definitely cleared up where to improve and develop towards. I want to see how filling the page completely with a mixture of mediums could alternate the overall look. Colour is effective but I’m thinking what if the was only one prominent colour maybe also.

IMG_6441

GESTURE2

Leave a Reply

