Arnulf Rainer

Aswell as developing video work, I have began working over images in progression with my collage work. Aswell as creating smaller developments with mixed mediums, I have gone further out of my comfort zone recently, into a much larger scale and the use of marks over image was just too inspiring from Rainer. I plan to go onto testing this out in more ranges and scales, not only with collages but maybe digital photos and so forth. I am learning that using bits of colour over a black and white feels more effective but it’s all part of my development processing.

Being influenced by Surrealism, Rainer’s style transformed towards the destruction of forms, with blackenings, overpaintings, and maskings of illustrations and photographs dominating his later work. Rainer painted often under the influence of drugs and his work tended towards being fairly gestural and expressive. I feel greatly inspired the more my work changes and becomes more enhanced, this rift between the contained and the expressive has always been fascinating subject to me.

Leave a Reply

