pechakucha slideshow presentation

20-slides

A pechakucha is a formulation of 20 slides, with each slide being 20 seconds each. This gives you the time to be able to express and order your topic. Having never used this technique before I was a little apprehensive but soon came to take to the idea and when it came to presenting I found myself having plenty to say. This whole process gave me the time to go through the stages and different processes I had learnt and progressed from in earlier weeks. Using artists, practical work and photography, I stabilised my thoughts and findings.

When it came to the making of my Pechakucha, I started off by informing on the initial idea I had which was of a few of many photos I had taken of Moroccan’s ‘in the moment’. I found this quite challenge considering we weren’t supposed to do this without asking and the outcomes were quite promising, capturing a sudden time and moment. The closer I got to the people, the more intense and striking the images seemed to become.

With changing from many different angles, heights and positions, I began to consider the images more as a whole and ways in the which they appear layered and effectively could become more layered. Howard Hodgkin was an artist my tutor expressed to me and I saw great relations to in the build up to my collages. Much of his Hodgkin’s work centres around layering and it’s appearance so this seemed only fitting. with bright gestural strokes and colourful depths, this work has only gone onto giving me more ideas. Hodgkin talks about the representation of Iridescence which is the phenomenon of a certain surface which appears to gradually change colour as the angle of view changes. and so yet again I kept seeing strong relations to what I’m trying to develop in my photos and then into the collages. Much of the photos I’ve then gone onto show, have this sensory of illusion and qualities which demonstrate change in light depending on which angle you focus on. The power of light in the images is astonishing and purely inspiring to my later work produced. This pushed with the density of forefront architecture is uplifting and exciting for one to look at. With inspiration leaning from the patterns and textures in the gardens, all these elements bring life to the images and collages.

Using the heat press and ink transfer, especially with the ink process being new to me, were exciting developments. As much as I loved the processes, I felt they didn’t come out as clean and direct as I imagined. bleeding ink and fading lines occurred and I soon lost interest. Collaging using multiple materials and layers became I big opening and is what I’m currently still working on. Other artists such as Kandinsky and his use of symbols and floating layers were very influential. using chilled and calm colours became an apparent success. Digital manipulations were another stage of progression and with techniques of repetition, symbolising things such as the Magarelle patterns, I found a trong pathway.

Leave a Reply

