Tate Britain & Turner prize

From entering Tate Britain I felt inspired by the deformed sculptures, having immediate relations to my project, these sculptures helped me to consider taking my own practice into a 3D format. Using ceramics/clay or even paper Mache, could create some interesting responses. Henry Moore’s sculptures depict lumpy and curved edges, twisting and winding effectively. with some actually looking like people, I enjoy his tendencies between the abstract and the norm.

img_7791

I found this years Turner Prize winners to be quite predictable in the sense of originality and drawing me in as a viewer, until I entered the final room of which displayed the artist Michael Dean’s work.

‘Michael Dean starts his work with writing – which he then gives physical form. He creates moulds and casts of his words, abstracting and distorting them into an alphabet of human-scale shapes, using materials that are instantly recognisable from everyday life such as concrete, steel, soil, sand and corrugated sheet metal.’

I think party my reasons for the great interest, were to do with the distortion elements of the sculptural forms but also the overall layout. I felt as if great thought went into presenting of the work as a whole. There is space and control mixed with the scattered touch of the pennies. The sculptural forms made me think of how I could potentially take photos of my own body twisting around odd forms like these. Creating disturbing qualities and uncomforting, it’d be as if I’m struggling to get out of some ‘nightmare’.

Dean wants us to see an element of language in his forms – to be able to imagine a word or idea. Parts of his sculptures often resemble the human body: tongues, limbs, eyes – How far could I go with the use of my body within my own work?

Leave a Reply

