Kandinsky: Inspired

Whilst making my abstract drawings, I found myself being inspired by Kandinsky’s paintings. The majority of Kandinsky’s work focus around the abstract and anatomy. After the outbreak of World War I. Kandinsky was drawn to the official theories on art in Communist Moscow.

The shapes and patterns he uses, were what drawn me in and I felt strong relations to my own collaging. Layering became an apparent significance and this seemed to be what brought the collages to life. His uses of multiple colours was what inspired me to have a set with a range of tonal colours and I feel I am now really getting somewhere with my designs.

Cossacks 1910-1 by Wassily Kandinsky 1866-1944

Leave a Reply

