Distortion manipulations

With establishing my main interests towards distortion and possession, I wanted to explore some different ways I could distort my own face. The first experiment I worked with was elastic bands. This experiment didn’t need much exaggeration with the stretch I felt on my skin. As a sufferer of sleep paralysis and feeling all sorts of pain consciously but being able to do nothing about it is something in itself and I feel I’ve been able to enhance and express this with this manipulation in particular.

I think the next step is for me to look at some more artists which can further my development at this early stage. Artist’s such Arnulf Rainer, Hans Bellmer and Rebecca Horn.

Leave a Reply

