Tate Liverpool: Adam Linder

8099d365772147640794fcf74a2676f5b4eea2b615c6722cc066f9e53274c8c6

After visiting Tate Liverpool, I found that the performance piece by Adam Linder stood out to me the most. Titled  ‘Choreographic Service No.4′ – Some Strands of Support a choreography for hair prostheses in which a designated object, sculpture or statue is cared for and obtained by a touch of hair.  Linder works predominantly with the medium of dance, making both theatre pieces and ‘Choreographic Services’.

I felt this piece had the strongest connections to my continuing practice due to motion within movements. The swaying and twisting of the hair sparked ideas for me to use within my topic of distortion. Confusion and elements of deformity become apparent. Using software such as Premiere Pro to develop these idea further could be a good starting point. I also want to focus more into my sleep paralysis and the idea of trying to move out of the nightmare and there being nothing you can do about it.

 

Leave a Reply

