Summer Project: ‘My Summer Journey’

For this project we were tasked in developing our own practises through documenting our Summer in some way, shape or form. I found that I spent most of my Summer working at the local pub I return to each holiday and therefore leaned towards creating work which expressed this environment. The main ways in which I found myself doing so were through rubbings and mark makings which then turned into collages and interesting imagery. I wanted the main focus to be around how marks, textures and patterns can symbolise a specific time and place personal to me and how I’ve been able to express and depict that in my own way. This project had also helped  me to move forward and enhance on from my Field project at the end of last term. Alot of what I was developing at that point seemed to interlock and this in itself helped tremendously. I looked at documenting when I went to New York and the idea of collecting and using ‘waste’ objects to depict a journey and experience. Artist’s such as Robert Rauschenberg and Kurt Schwitters were at the forefront of this development and their influences of focusing around a similar subject and creating art work which illustrates experience and places they’ve been/seen, helped and adds to my own personal development. Considering layering to overlap experiences and texture to create a feeling of the place are both extremely important aspects for me in the success of my art.

Leave a Reply

